Pasadena Bead and Design Show

16 Aug
Baking My Owl, originally uploaded by m-oo.

Yesterday, I attended the Pasadena Bead & Design Show for two workshops on polymer clay with Christi Friesen. The photo above is of my owl (yay!) baking in our counter-top convection oven. I’ve only used this thing twice to bake pizza. On a pizza stone. (Yes, that’s right, the oven came with its own stone.)

We didn’t have time to finish our owls in the workshop, so I brought him home to complete his talons, and popped him in the oven for over an hour. At this point, he’s chillin’ on the kitchen counter, awaiting a name. Any suggestions?

The first workshop with Christi was making floral focal beads, but I imagine they can be whatever you want, depending on your mood. My design was entirely haphazard and each element was placed on because of one accident after another.

That’s how I roll.

All in all, it came out alright for my first encounter with polymer clay. Technique-wise, I would prefer to be more detailed and careful, but time was of the essence and everyone kept saying that if you didn’t mean for it to turn out that way, just say you did.

Frankly, I’d rather not. I want to be really good at something, thank you. Plus, I compete with the likes of this guy, who happens to be the man I sleep with.

I didn’t have time to see everything at the show in one day, but I found some owls, including an inro boxwood that I will use to stash my weed.

Just kidding. I don’t inhale. I’ve never even tried a cigarette. And now, you don’t want to party with me.

These little guys below were too adorable to pass up and will be made into earrings.

Besides polymer clay and owls, I attended a free workshop, where we made little pendants for ourselves using Art Clay. Once the clay is fired or placed into a kiln, it becomes 99.99% fine silver. It’s expensive material so I don’t think I’ll be using any just yet. You can see the Fleur de Lis (of course) that I stamped into the clay, burnished, and then polished using an agate brush. We weren’t allowed to fire our own pieces because the fire department thought we may set everyone aflame, so the instructors showed us their techniques.

Technically, I could melt this down and sell it to silver people that want silver for their silver things.

PS.
I traded the aggressive sailfin molly for a female and two guppies. Now we have eight fishies.

Eight is a lucky number in Chinese culture. I’m sure you already realized that was the reason for the Beijing Olympics starting on 08-08-08 at 08:08. No? Well, I’m glad to have brought an irreverent fact into your life. Use it at the next party you didn’t invite me to.

And speaking of the Olympics, holy Phelps!
Did you see his .01 win?

2 Responses to “Pasadena Bead and Design Show”

  1. Mom August 17, 2008 at 5:16 pm #

    Muriel your blog is fantastic. (Now, that Hailey has been featured). I tried contacting you yesterday to no avail, now I know why, the Bead and Design Show. Your always out and about learning or doing something new. Your owl is adorable. Just think of all the custom ornaments you can make (hint, hint). Can’t wait until your next update.

    Love, Mom

  2. dad August 21, 2008 at 7:08 am #

    the name of the owl is hoot in fact the whole enterprise is hoot productions

Leave a Reply

