Delving Deeper into Debt for Success Tomorrow!

25 Oct

That title sounds like a tagline for the Learning Annex.

For the sake of jump-starting this funk I’ve been in since 2005, I’ve gone over my daily life often enough in my head to not want to go into my daily life here, on my blog. Which is supposed to be about my daily life. Strange conundrum that is.

As I mentioned a while back, I was to go into trial runs with wedding photographers to learn something, anything, about the biz of brides, grooms, and crazy Aunt Belindas. I was once a bride oh so long ago (or so it seems), and I still believe I could have done better than anyone I hired for my own wedding. Especially compared to what some vendors ended up providing us? Wow. Our 4-year-old niece could’ve done better.

But so far, I haven’t had a trial run. I’m accepting the fact that it may not happen and that’s okay.

Why? Because I’ve already sold all of our older photography equipment – the camera, the lens, straps, flash, a tripod, and more. And, we received $200 less on the auction than we thought we would. Our lives tend to revolve around disappointment lately, and that’s okay. I am taking action, damn it!

Today, I bought a Canon 40D and a Canon 17-85mm f/4-5.6 lens.

I saw a good deal and went for it. Well, I didn’t exactly go for it. It was more like molasses in terms of how I took action. Paul had to push to me to just get it over with, much like Band-Aids. I just ripped off the damn thing, and now I feel so much better. Knowing that something is supposed to arrive in the mail that’s going to take my life in a new and exciting direction is very… well, exciting.

Once it arrives, I’m hoping to photograph anything that moves (and doesn’t). Then, I’ll use my best work to be hired and paid. I’ll even have special promotions to start out, so look out for those if you’re in the neighborhood for an event photographer. Spread the news! Spread it far and wide! That sounded awful.

Next on the list is a new website design, a Canon 580EX II Flash, more lenses, and possibly Adobe Lightroom. This goal of mine is apparently a slippery slope into more debt, but you’ve got to spend money to make money! Right, Paul?

So, family and friends, for this holiday (and birthday): SEND MONEY.
LOTS AND LOTS OF MONEY.

Just kidding. I’ll make the money back because I can do this, and do it well.

But no, really. Money, please.

3 Responses to “Delving Deeper into Debt for Success Tomorrow!”

  1. Marilyn October 27, 2008 at 5:34 am #

    Congrats on your Canon! :)

  2. Muriel October 27, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    Thanks, Marilyn! I hope your camera has been working well for you ;D Are you posting more on Flickr? I haven’t been there in a while.

  3. Tamara November 1, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    Whoo hoo! I can’t wait to see what you do with it!

Leave a Reply

