One Year Down

3 Dec

Paul and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary recently. Since it fell on a “work” day, we celebrated the Sunday before. I can’t remember the last time we actually had a whole day out of the office without it being part of a vacation (which was last December). It was almost surreal, and I kept thinking that so many people take their days off for granted. The ability to run errands? Go out to dinner? Watch the tele together? Sleep together? We have to make time for that sort of stuff. And we don’t even have children yet, WTF.

It’s a little crazy, but we work together, so that at least allows us to see each others faces.

We began the day by flying our RC planes. Well, I flew them. Paul made it a point that I did it by myself, without training, as he rushed me early in the morning. It’s technically illegal to fly these in most areas, so we went to the park early to beat the weekend crowd. There were still too many people at 7am (what the hell are you people doing there?) but it only took 30 seconds for me to crash each plane.

You can see that the white plane lost a wing. And the propeller.
The Mustang lost it’s propeller and has no replaceable parts, so it’s just decoration now.

I am the greatest pilot in the world.

We then headed for the movies. AMC offers $6 tickets before noon on Friday – Sunday, so we always make it a point to go then instead of when tickets are a million dollars. We saw Quantum of Solace (eh) and Madagascar 2 (ha).

We then decided on sitting around at Starbucks to figure out what to do next. I practiced memorizing my lines for the scene in my acting class’ final (which is next week), and Paul posed for me while I tested onboard flash settings. I am in love with the color in his photograph. Oh, and him, I’m in love with him.

And the pièce de résistance: SUSHI for dinner. Oh, how I love thee. Lucky for us, Kabuki was having a customer appreciation week for being voted the best in Pasadena, and this was the last day for their 50% off promotion!

All in all, the day was fun and relaxing, which is precisely what we wanted.

One Response to “One Year Down”

  1. Tamara December 6, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! Awesome! Yes, this time last year I was hugely pregnant and cranky… lol. I think I even made a post about it on my blog about your wedding and me squeezing into nylons LOL!… oh yes, here it is lol –

    http://momentscherished.typepad.com/gbo/2007/11/sausage-anyone.html That blog is abandoned.. and ugly lol.

    Anyhow, looks like you all had a wonderful day! Very sweet :)

    BTW.. sushi is icky. Just thought you should know..
    lol.

Leave a Reply

