Robbed on a Photo Shoot!

6 Feb

First of all, did you notice the new blog design?! (XOXO to my husband for figuring out how to trick the “free” WordPress with CSS. He kicks butt!) I’m sure it will change up once things move along as there is a lot more I want to do with this place, but for now, the blog is beautiful.

And, my photography website has officially launched. OMG! If you haven’t given it a peek, please do. And let me know what you think by leaving a post on my Facebook, or emailing me, or commenting here, or sending me a gift in the mail…

Just kidding about that last one.

Now, here’s what happened.

This past Saturday, Paul and I drove to The Colburn School in downtown Los Angeles to photograph a lovely girl named, Louise. She’s from Australia and has only been here since August to attend the school as a cellist. I was pretty excited to get some shots of her because Louise didn’t want traditional “classical musician” photos, and I didn’t want traditional headshots.

At 6:30am, we picked her up and drove around before starting across the street from her school – the infamous Walt Disney Concert Hall. Our plan was to spend some time there, and move on to another location. So we parked on 1st, right next to the hall. At about 7:20am, as Louise and I are workin’ it, we hear a man yelling, “HEY! HEY! HEY!” I’m thinking it’s someone causing a raucus because a driver had already yelled out at us asking if Louise was an Aussie. (The sticker on her case should’ve given that away.)

Paul walks around the corner to check out the fuss, while Louise and I keep workin’ it.

Suddenly, two guys in an orange maintenance cart rumble up to us and ask if we own the Ford Escape around the corner. Well, yes, but my husband is already over there.

“Someone broke into your car and grabbed stuff. We were too slow to catch him.”

And that was that.

Two windows were completely shattered. Louise’s backpack was stolen, which contained her Australian ID, school key, cell phone, and wallet. Plus a ton of clothes, including her tailor-made concert dress that she bought in Australia. My dad’s Canon 20D, which we borrowed for the shoot, was taken from underneath the seat. I won’t even go into that because my dad basically handled the news like a 10-year-old girl.

Surprisingly, my purse sat there next to the driver door, and my camera bag was still in the back. We figure the two maintenance guys scared the dude away before he could take everything. So, I guess I can say that I have yet to have anything stolen from me?

We were advised by the police to get the car fingerprinted. So Ruben Sanchez helped us out and started explaining qualities of prints. We of course asked him about CSI; he of course said he doesn’t watch it. But, we did find out that he knew my godfather because they both worked on the OJ Simpson case. (My godfather was a crime scene photographer.) Small world, right?

The rest of the day was spent helping Louise. Since she was foreign, without a social security number, car, telephone, or key to her building, we figured she needed as much help as possible. Thankfully, a friend of mine gave her an old cell phone to activate, and Australia home insurance is still in effect because it’s been less than 90 days since she left.

Well, here are my favorites from the 20 minutes of time that we had to shoot.

Thanks for the bonding experience, Louise! Welcome to Los Angeles. ;D

3 Responses to “Robbed on a Photo Shoot!”

  1. Tamara February 7, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    What the crap!!!?? That totally sucks, I am so sorry!
    The photoshoot rocks! I really like #2 and the one of her in the middle of the street.

  2. Roxana February 8, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    Hey you – Just checked out your Voirvenir installment about the camera and I love your photos you posted of that Australian Student. She is quite tall and beautiful to boot. She almost looks like a fashion model strutting across the street in her pumps. Love the instrument case with the arrow! Great shots my dear”

  3. Vina Huynh February 23, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    Nice shots! I was at The York yesterday where they were displaying my friend’s photography. That has no relevance to anything, I just wanted to share haha. I like them all, but the second to last photo caught my eye because of the “walt disney concert” on the wall in the background. In the second photo of Louise, I thought where was holding a weapon at first glance because the arrow on the street was seemingly the top of her instrument. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work =)
    I’ll have some of mine posted soon. I’ll let you know when

Leave a Reply

