Mishe Mokwa Trail to Sandstone Peak

29 Apr

Sunday’s hike was along the Mishe Mokwa trail to Sandstone Peak; a 6-mile loop in the Malibu area that takes you to the highest point in the Santa Monica mountains. I know I’ve said the last two hikes are my favorite, but this one may just take the cake. I think. I’m really indecisive with these things. Malibu Creek and Temescal are tough competition!

This is a trail that takes you through all kinds of landscapes – ones that I don’t know much about, so I just took pictures of the rocky cliffs, grassy knolls, watery creeks, overhanging trees, split and balancing rocks, and the flowers in full bloom.

And yes, I just about died as we reached the peak, which is actually volcanic, not sandstone. I can’t imagine hiking the “short” way, which is only 1 mile up, up, up. We took that path down, down, down.

I wore my ol’ hiking shoes for their first trail after 4 years of not hiking with them. They have a stigma that I’m hoping to break, so I started wearing them on errands around town with a pair of thick hiking socks. And during the hike, the Vibram soles were just awesome. I forgot how much I love traction. Plus, no blisters! Hallelujah!

The only downside is how heavy they are. I’ve seen newer hiking shoes that are still water-resistant, but without Vibram, or they look as huge as mine. Then, I worry about ankle support…

What? Oh. Photos. You’re here for the photos.

























We ended with lunch at Malibu Seafood, where Martina made a new friend.

One Response to “Mishe Mokwa Trail to Sandstone Peak”

  1. dlockeretz June 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    Nice pictures & trip report! Sandstone is one of my favorites, getting ready to go for my seventh trip there tomorrow. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

